Second Saturday of the Month- Minnesota Law, Alcohol and Minnesota Kids

This is the second installment in a guide for parents that addresses Minnesota law and kids. The installments post every second Saturday of the Month. The last installment addressed the age of majority in Minnesota, which is 18. The Age of Majority post is archived in the November 2010 section and is tagged under Family Law and Of Interest to MN Citizens.

This post will address Minnesota laws related to alcohol and Minnesota kids.

The Consumption of Alcohol by Kids

It is unlawful for any person under the age of 21 to consume alcohol. Consume is defined at the ingestion of an alcoholic beverage and the physical condition of having ingested an alcoholic beverage.

Purchasing of Alcohol by Kids

It is unlawful for any person under the age of 21 to purchase or attempt to purchase any alcoholic beverage or to lend or knowingly permit the use of a person’s driver’s license, permit, or MN ID card, or other form of ID by a person under the age of 21 years for the purpose of purchasing or attempting to purchase an alcoholic beverage.

Possession of Alcohol by Kids

It is unlawful for a person under the age of 21 to possess any alcoholic beverage with the intent to consume it at a place other than the household of the parent or the guardian.

Entering Licensed Premises Where Alcohol is Served

A person under the age of 21 may not enter an establishment licensed for the sale of alcoholic beverages for the purpose of purchasing or having served or delivered any alcohol.

Misrepresentation That a Person is age 21 or Older

It is unlawful for a person under the age of 21 to claim to be 21 years or older for the purpose of purchasing alcohol.

Employment of Kids and Alcohol

Minors under the age of 18 are prohibited from employment in any rooms that serve alcohol or where alcohol is consumed except for the following:

A minor at least 16 years can be employed to bus dishes or wash dishes or host services in an establishment where alcohol is served incidental to food;

A minor at least 16 years old can be employed to provide musical entertainment in establishments where the presence of alcohol is incidental to food service or preparation.

Minors are not prevented from working at tasks not prohibited by

law in establishments where liquor is sold, served, dispensed, or

handled in those rooms or areas where no liquor is consumed or

served.

 

Driving and Alcohol Use

No person under 21 years of age may drive or operate a motor

vehicle while consuming or after having consumed alcoholic

beverages while there is physical evidence of the consumption in

the person’s body. In addition to criminal penalties, an underage

person may lose his or her driver’s license for between 30 and 180

days.


 

About Kate Willmore, Esq.

Kate Willmore, Saint Cloud, Minnesota, divorce, custody and family attorney brings over 25 years experience to every client's legal matter. *** Licensed in Minnesota and in California

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: